If the Tourism Development Plan Digest (TDPD) submitted by the Municipal Government of Dalaguete at the recently concluded National Tourism Statistics Conference (NTSC) held last February 16-17, 2012 at the Manila Diamond Hotel will be followed to the letter, then Dalaguete will soon undergo a tourism boom.

Under the plan, the town’s tourism development is grouped into three major tourism-inclined development clusters – Cluster 1 (Tapon to Obong Cultural Heritage Cluster), which is host to both the Obong Spring and to a good number of Spanish-era heritage sites in town, the identification, preservation, development and promotion of its places of historical and cultural significance are of utmost concern.  In Cluster 2 (Casay to Coro Recreation and Industry Cluster), development is geared towards reclaiming Dalaguete Beach Park’s reputation as one of the leading resort and recreation destinations in the South. Furthermore, other beach destinations and accommodation establishments along the Casay to Coro coastal strip are dynamically promoted and introduced. In Cluster 3 (Mantalongon Highlands Ecotourism Cluster),   tourism-inclined yet environment-sensitive development projects are being considered, in consonance to the cluster’s unique position both as an agricultural hub and as being at the very heart of the town’s Summer Capital of Cebu.

The TDPD of Dalaguete ranked fourth among the digests submitted by 56 LGUs of Regions 4, 6, and 7, which included 11 provinces and 45 municipalities/cities. The plans of Puerto Princesa City of Palawan and the Municipality of San Jose of Antique Province shared the number one spot while Bago City of Negros Occidental was at solo third spot.  Guimbal Town of Iloilo and Talisay City of Negros Occidental shared fifth spot that were followed by Talisay City of Cebu at seventh spot, Municipality of Concepcion of Iloilo at eight spot, and sharing the ninth spot were Iloilo Province and Carles Town of Iloilo. Other LGUs from Cebu who submitted their plans were the Province of Cebu and the Municipalities of Aloguinsan, Badian, Moalboal, Poro, Samboan, San Remigio and Santander.

The NTSC served as the culminating activity of the Department of Tourism (DOT)/Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) Technical Cooperation Project on the Development of Tourism Statistics for the Local Government Units (LGUs).  The event was aimed at presenting the outputs of the three-year project consisting of the Basic Tourism Statistics, Advanced Tourism Statistics, and the use of Statistics for Tourism Development Planning. From 113 LGUs of the three pilot regions of the project, only 58 qualified and were invited to the NTSC, and only 56 were able to submit their TDPDs. The Municipal Delegation of Dalaguete consists of Mr. Victor S. Caruz of the Tourism Investment and Promotions Office and Engr. Expedizitas S. Lenares of the Municipal Planning and Development Office.

Related articles:
Further steps taken to hike tourism revenues
System to craft local hotel occupancy data