After 2 days of exerting vigorous effort directly under the heat of the sun, athletes from the Municipality of Liloan and Dalaguete emerged victorious as they bagged the most awards for the Elementary and High School Categories respectively from the recently concluded Inter-Municipality Swimming Competition.

The competition was joined by four municipalities from all over the Province of Cebu with the sole purpose of selecting the top swimmers of Cebu, making them the province’s representatives for the upcoming Central Visayas Regional Athletics Association (CVIRAA) meet. The swimming competition was hosted by the Municipality of Dalaguete and was held at the Dalaguete Aquatic Center inside the premises of the Dalaguete National High School (DNHS) campus.

Advancing up to the CVIRAA Meet are Niño Aaron Tenefrancia, Ron Japhet Palange, Ken Argie Debuayan, Nate Antonio Plando, and Vladimir Mariscal for the Secondary (Boys) Division while Crystal Miah Palange, Samantha Mariscal, Andrei Centino, and Kaella Cris Eviota will represent Cebu for the Secondary (Girls) Division.

For the Elementary divisions, Phil Anthony Plando and Khryz Johann Ledama will stand up for the boys with Lara Lian Abajon, Kendra Cisneros, Althea Mariscal, and Sachi Antonia Plando for the girls.

The Municipality of Dalaguete collectively took home 28 gold medals, 26 silver medals and 12 bronze medals from a total of 70 swimming events which includes 50m, 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m swim for Freestyle Category, 50m, 100m, and 200m swim for Backstroke, Breaststroke, and Butterfly categories, 100m and 200m swim for Individual Medley, 50m and 100m swim for Relays and 50m, 100m swim for Mixed Relays.

After the awarding, all swimmers from the Dalaguete team huddled up and gave genuine appreciation towards their coach, Mr. Joel Peconcillo, who trained both the secondary-level and elementary athletes for the said competition.